Executive Director. Katz Prize

A second year has gone by since Mordechai (Marcos) Katz, the founder of the Katz Prize, left us.

During his life and after his passing, it has been my privilege to continue his life's enterprise the Katz prize. Continuing to propagate his encompassing legacy has been a great consolation for me

This year, like in previous years, we accepted applications from individuals and community institutions whose goal was to connect Jewish identity and halacha with modern life circumstances. From the many applications, all of which were good and deserving, we finally arrived at the selection of three individuals and one institution which the committee chose as the most fitting for the 2018 prize.

Rabbi Asher Weiss, who has served for many years at the head of batei din and as the rabbi of Shaare Zedek hospital in Jerusalem, has written many landmark rulings whose practical application have been accepted by broad and diverse sectors of the public.

Rabbi Yehuda Henkin's many rulings are characterized by halachic expertise, courage and sensitivity, and total fidelity to halacha and awareness of the changes taking place in the role of women in the modern world.

Rabbi Yosef Zvi Rimon is a Torah scholar specializing on Land of Israel issues, who has written many articles and books on the subject of halacha and its application to contemporary life.

He serves as a synagogue rabbi in Alon Shvut and the rabbi of the Ley Academic Center

The Institute for the Research of Jewish Law has published a long list of books on various disciplines of Jewish jurisprudence in Hebrew and English, which are considered classics for students of the subject. It has made a significant contribution to strengthening the status of Jewish jurisprudence in contemporary Israeli law.

I wish to congratulate and express my gratitude to the Prize committee members, the committee chairman, Prof. Menachem Ben Sasson, the chief rabbi of Jerusalem, Rabbi Aryeh Stern *shlita*, and the author and head of the Maaleh Adumim yeshiva, Rabbi Chaim Sabato, who, based on their expertise and experience, chose these outstanding candidates as the winners of the prize this year. A special thank you to Rabbi Ezriel Levitan for professionally coordinating with and advising the committee.

I want to express my personal appreciation to Adina and the extended Katz family who trusted me to managed the Katz Prize in honor and in memory of the Prize founder, Marcos (Mordechai) Katz zichrono livrocha.

Sincerely,

Meirav Catriel Shtarker