Meirav Catriel Shtarker

It is seven years since Mordechai David (Marcos) Katz, the founder of the Katz Prize, passed away. This Prize has a glorious past and a promising future. Many dozens of well-known personalities and institutions, Torah giants and spiritual titans, were awarded it during these years.

This year we received dozens of inquiries from institutions and individuals. These associations and individuals, each in his own field, are doing their best to integrate Jewish law in modern life.

The Prize committee carefully examined each and every candidate, and four of them were chosen - two individuals and two institutions. Professor Aviad HaCohen - a scholar of Jewish civil law; Dr. Yochai Makbili who has been disseminating the Rambam's writings and making them accessible to the public; the Talmudic Encyclopedia which summarizes the halachic part of the Oral Torah, and the Barkai association, which trains community rabbis. Congratulations to Rabbi Shmuel Yaniv for a Lifetime Achievement award for disseminating Torah.

I would like to thank the members of the Prize Committee, the chairman Professor Menahem Ben Sasson, Rabbi Shlomo Dichovski and the author Rabbi Haim Sabato - wonderful people, great in Torah and science - who devoted their valuable time and made every effort to select worthy candidates.

A big thank you to the dear Katz family, special people, lovers of the State of Israel, lovers of the Torah and lovers of the Jewish people, for their wonderful legacy that many were fortunate to benefit from.

Sincerely,

Meirav Catriel Shtarker Director of the Katz Prize